The Mighty Meryl Streep Carries “The Iron Lady”

220px-Iron_lady_film_poster

I love a good movie almost as much as a good book.  In both cases good writing is essential—the basic and absolutely essential requirement—but beyond that, for me, there’s one more necessity for a movie, and that’s good performances.  Just as certain authors are auto-buys for me, so are certain actors.  Meryl Streep is one of those.

Which is why I rented “The Iron Lady” as soon as it came out.  I had to see what Meryl would do with Margaret Thatcher.  It was hard for me to imagine a script that would hold my interest about that period with Thatcher as the focus, but with Meryl playing the part, I had to give it a chance.  From what I’d seen, the makeup job was amazing, and she always nails the voice, but beyond that, did she really deserve another Oscar?

Yep.  She did.  You know how I can tell?  My husband watched it, beginning to end, and when the credits rolled, he had only one thing to say.  “Meryl Streep is an amazing actress.”  Indeed.  She did for Margaret Thatcher what Helen Mirren did for Elizabeth in “The Queen.”

Streep has a gift for using her hands, her body, every bit of her face to express character in subtle but unmistakable ways.  No one does it better.  I believed her as a powerful woman in her prime and as an old woman struggling with the onset of dementia.  The script is okay—makes good use of flashback—but it’s uneven.  The scene in which Margaret finally bags up her husband’s clothes (he’s been dead for years) really touched me.  I remember when my mother gave my father’s clothes away.  I watched my grandmother take some of my grandfather’s things from the “front closet” and give them to a man who had come to the door.  That scene depicted that moment beautifully as the former prime minister of Great Britain became every woman.

If you haven’t seen Streep’s latest triumph, check it out.  If you have, what did you think?   And what have you seen or read lately that you can recommend?

Oh, and one more thing.  Shameless plug time.  I just got the line edits for YOU NEVER CAN TELL, which is the sequel to THE LAST GOOD MAN.  Shouldn’t be too long before Bell Bridge Books brings Kole Kills Crow’s story out.  They’re working on the new cover now.  Can’t wait to see it!

The Last Good Man - print  THE LAST GOOD MAN is on sale now in digital and print formats, soon coming out in audio.

About Kathleen Eagle

Kathleen Eagle is the award-winning, New York Times best-selling author of over forty novels.
This entry was posted in movie recommendation, movie review. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to The Mighty Meryl Streep Carries “The Iron Lady”

  1. Cindy Gerard says:

    Great review, Kathy. I’ve been wanting to see that movie now I’ll get it for sure!
    Can’t say I’ve seen any movies lately – have several saved on DVR – one of them Capote. First chance I get I’m going to watch it

    • Oh, Cindy, “Capote” is amazing. Philip Seymour Hoffman is, IMO, the male Meryl Streep. His movies are sure choices for me, and “Capote” is outstanding on so many levels. For one thing, IN COLD BLOOD is a classic in its own right–I used to use it in my senior English classes, believe it or not–and the movie offered such interesting insights.

  2. michelehauf says:

    Will add this to my must-see list! I’m desperate for a great movie!

    • You know what I can’t wait to see, Miss M? “Dark Shadows.” No kidding. Well, Johnny Depp, of course. Wanna go with me?

      • michelehauf says:

        Heh. YOu know, I initially did not want to see that movie, since I’d never seen the original, and wasn’t sure it seemed like something that I’d like. But. After seeing the wacky trailer now I do want to see it because it looks just strange and funky enough to appeal.

  3. Leanne says:

    I haven’t seen many movies lately either, but I appreciate you reminding of this one. I love Meryl Streep and I frankly think she can probably carry just about anything she wants.

  4. Linda says:

    This is one of the movies that I wanted to see but decided to wait for it on DVD. I think Meryl Streep could do any role and I would want to watch it… she is one of the best for this generation, sort of like Katherine and Audrey Hepburn. As for movies seen lately, I did go see The Raven this pass weekend. It was slow moving but really good, but then again I like John Cussack. I also really liked all of Edgar Allen Poe’s works and the movie did a good job incorporating them.

    • John Cussack and Poe–absolutely! I’ll take that pair any day, too. And Katharine Hepburn is another of my favorites. For years we shared the same birthday–November 8–and then she came out in her autobio. She’d co-opted her older brother’s (and my) birthday. At the age of 13 she’d been the one to discover his body after his apparent suicide.

  5. kylie brant says:

    I’ll be sure and watch that one. We love movies but just yesterday were bemoaning the fact that we *are never home*. Nothing better than vegging on a Sun. afternoon just watching movies!

  6. christieridgway says:

    Oh, maybe I’ll rent this tonight! Thanks for the rec. I haven’t seen Capote either. As for Dark Shadows…I definitely think the trailer made it look campy. Maybe a little too campy for my tastes.

  7. Thanks for the reminder about The Iron Lady. I definitely want to see Meryl Streep in every movie she’s in, because she is amazing! And the trailers for Depp’s new movie make me laugh every time. That’s a must-see, too!

  8. Pingback: The many faces of Meryl Streep « My Spanish Translator

Leave a Reply

