flowers, flowers everywhere!

Spring is one of my favorite times of the year – muddy paw prints and allergies not withstanding.  We love flowers here and thank goodness, my dh has the greenest thumb this side of the Mississippi.  that man loves his posies and he works very hard at not only keeping them alive but making them thrive. All I have to do is admire them, smile and tell him how pretty they are.  Nice gig.

Here are some of our favorites:

 

bleeding heartimages

lovely bleeding heart.  an old sentimental favorite of mine

 

hydrangaimages

hydrangea – depending on the fertilizer used it can be a variety of colors

azaliaimages

azalea – lovely blossoms and many colors

 

lilacimages

lilac – another sentimental favorite of mine and the fragrance — heaven!

 

lilyimages

my mom had lilys of the valley all around the house where we grew up.  I always get a little misty with sentiment when they first come into bloom because they make me think ofher

wave petuniaimages

wave petunias are a staple around here.  they bloom beautifully all summer long

day lillyimages

day lilies come in a variety of colors.  we just love them.

 

There are so many, many more but these are some my personal favs.  What about you?  Are you a flower lover?  Do you like to dig in the dirt or watch someone else do the digging?  What’d your favorite flower and does it have any sentimental attachment to you? 

About cindygerard

Cindy Gerard is a New York Times best-selling author of action packed romantic suspense novels. Learn more about Cindy at http://www.cindygerard.com
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to flowers, flowers everywhere!

  1. Michele S. says:

    My fave spring flowers are tulips. They are so pretty and when I see them, I think Spring. Also, love hydrangeas. Unfortunately I have a black thumb so I don’t garden but I would love to learn how =).

  2. My favorite flowers are raspberry swirl hybrid tea roses – their leaves come out a beautiful shade of burgundy before turning green and the flowers remind me of ice cream!

    • Cindy Gerard says:

      Wow. They sound amazing. I’m going to have to tell my hubby about that rose. We have a few roses – love them! our favorite is a Buffalo Gal bush. It’s like a double wild rose and it is by far the most fragrant rose I have EVER smelled. On a summer day, when the wind is just right and the windows are open and the entire bush is in bloom you smell it in the house. amazing!

  3. Leanne says:

    Happy Spring Cindy! Love your flower pics!:) We have Dogwoods. I know that’s a tree, but the blooms are beautiful. We also have roses, petunias, pansies, azaleas, irises and one hydrangea. I would love more hydrangeas but we don’t seem to have enough water for them!

    • Cindy Gerard says:

      Hey Leanne! congrats on getting your book finished. I saw that you posted it on FB! yea!!
      Pansies – such personality! And how could I forget my irises. Probably my all time favorite!

  4. I LOVE flowers my favorites are hibiscus, carnations, magnolias, orange roses and any kind of lily, though stargazers and tigers are my favorite. Most of my family love to garden, I just like to see the beauty of what they have done. I also LOVE going to botanical gardens there is one 10 minutes from my house and any day I get to visit is a good day!

  5. Kelli Jo Calvert says:

    Daisy’s will ALWAYS be my favorite flower!! But I do love lilacs – they bring back my childhood and they do smell of Heaven. Lillies of the Valley are my mom’s birth flower and they are just so darn cute! May Flower – just beautiful!! And, I have to throw in Carnations – even if they aren’t in season – they are my birth flower and I’ll always love them.

  6. Linda says:

    Ah spring and flowers! Love flowers.. lilacs and roses are my personal favorites. I do some gardening, but they have to be low maintenance types. I plant a lot of wild flowers and perennials. Blackeye Susans, Daisy’s, sage. This year I am going to try to get a butterfly and hummingbird section started….

  7. Cindy Gerard says:

    We want to plant a butterfly garden, too, Linda. Love those delicate little things that are like flowers themselves. Can’t wait for our hummers to return. I’ve had the feeders up for a month now, just in case LOL.

  8. Passionale tulips! They were a favor at my daughter’s late September wedding, went with her wedding colors. Since tulips tend to give up the ghost after a few years, I replant.

    My neighbor brought me an unusual speckled wild violet the other day. She said she and her mother discovered it years ago, and now they’re all over her yard, cheerfully reminding her of her late mom.

    I love wild violets and forget-me-nots and squill and all the little spring flowers that pop up and smile and multiply so generously. Love wild flowers. We’ve gone natural in the front yard. Anything that attracts butterflies and hummingbirds adds to the joy.

  9. kylie brant says:

    I love bleeding hearts and lillies of the valley, too. Spring flowers–tulips and hyacinths are so lovely. And I’m a sucker for columbine…have different varieties planted all over. Oh and lupines and delphiniums. Snap dragons and glads. I just love flowers, LOL!

  10. Sonya Natalia Heaney says:

    Ugh. We’re well on our way to winter here in Australia. I know nothing at all about gardening, but everyone in my family seems to have hydrangeas everywhere, so I’ve learnt to love them too!

    Tulips are my favourite though…

  11. loisgreiman says:

    Beautiful pics, Cindy. Are they all in bloom already? If so you’re way ahead of us. I love growing, greening, blooming things but alas, my time is so limited. When I turn 80 though I plan to spend losts of time with my hands in the dirt. :)

  12. Cindy Gerard says:

    I grabbed these images off google this morning, so no not all are in bloom. Our lilacs are almost done and the azalieas are just getting started.

  13. christieridgway says:

    Beautiful! I’m so frustrated with my hydrangeas. They never puff out into a full bloom. The plants look healthy and the flowers start, and then just pop little puffs here and there. Wah. My other fave is our plumeria plant that loves its place by the pool. In summer, the blossoms drop into the water and look so pretty. They smell great too.

    • Cindy Gerard says:

      Oh I envy you your California plants! Look up hydrangeas on the web, Christie. I’ll bet they just need some lime kind of nutrient that you can sprinkle on the soil.

  14. Nicole says:

    I love lilac, my mom always had some in her garden when I was young. She doesn’t anymore. I’m not sure why. Where I leave now the lilies, roses and azalea are very easy to maintain. I love flowers but I can’t say that gardening is a hobby of mine.

  15. Heather says:

    My favorite spring flowers are daffodils and lilacs, though I also love seeing magnolia and crabapple in bloom. With the unusually warm March we had, the crabapple outside my front window was ablaze with blossoms this year. I also enjoy visiting the nearby Arboretum and went on a guided wildflower walk Sunday. This year’s weather has even the naturalists stymied, as what should be blooming now is already gone, and what should bloom in May is already up. We saw trillium, shooting star, a ton of wood violets and creeping charlie, wood poppies, purple phlox (also called sweet william), wood betony, a couple jack-in-the-pulpit, wild geranium, Virginia bluebell, and false wood anemone.

    • Cindy Gerard says:

      Oh that walk sounds wonderful! And yes, everything is confused about when to bloom after the mild winter. Our prairie fire crab apple tree was just stunning but the blossoms didn’t last as long as usual.

  16. Sam says:

    We moved to Texas 10 years ago, and I really miss the lilacs. And tulips and daffodils are annuals here, unless you lift them and keep them in the fridge till spring. :(
    They have some roses here that are just awesome though, really amazing, blooming practically year round this year with the mild winter, and right through the 110 degree summer last year! They are truly amazing, practically no care except cutting back in the fall. They’ve come out with a new pretty coral dwarf, that I need to get my hands on. :)

    http://www.northcoastgardening.com/2011/08/drift-roses-dwarf-knockout-relative/

Leave a Reply

