Debra—Out of Africa, a thousand words

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Cheetah and we were lucky to get a shot of one.

 

   

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

37 Responses to Debra—Out of Africa, a thousand words

  1. donicacovey says:

    Beautiful! I love all your amazing shots! Thank you for sharing them

  2. Lisa Scott says:

    Gorgeous! I had no idea Deb was headed to Africa. Beautiful pictures. (Might have to censor the shot of the monkey man-goods.) Hope you had a fab time!

  3. Cindy Gerard says:

    simply gorgeous and amazing!!!

  4. debradixon says:

    This is just the tip of the iceberg!! But nothing’s worse than someone making you sit through vacation photos.

  5. catslady says:

    OMG gorgeous. I would sit through them all and then again!

    • debradixon says:

      We are planning a trip to my uncle’s in May where he’s doing a slide show using pictures from everyone who was there. I’ll be very excited to sit through them.

  6. Wow! Just Wow!, Deb. What amazing photos. The wonders of God’s world that most of us will never see. How fortunate you are to have had such an experience – and how lucky we are that you shared these pictures with us. Glad you are back home safe and sound.

  7. Oh, Deb. No words. Except National Geographic, you ain’t the only game in town.

  8. Christine H. says:

    What amazing photos! Just beautiful! And that baby elephant is just too precious!

    • debradixon says:

      The baby was adorable. But we had to be extra special careful not to make much noise. The elephants are really the most dangerous when you’re that close. You let them take their time and get out of the area.

  9. michelehauf says:

    Beautiful. I can’t imagine what it must be like to be so close to wild animals like that. Reverent yet maybe a little fearful?

    • debradixon says:

      You’re in this truck that the top pops up, but the elephants are still bigger than the truck. The lions could just jump up. So, it’s an interesting thing. You do realize that you are somewhat fragile.

  10. bellwriter says:

    Loralee took my wows, but what the heck, wow! These look straight out of National Geographic. So, have a hand up here if the photographer is answering questions. How close were you to these animals? What was the temperature and were you ever afraid. What an extraordinary experience. Well done!

    • debradixon says:

      We were pretty close. I do have a decent camera with a zoom lens but it’s not like a fancy camera. :) We were anywhere from 5 feet to 20-50 feet. One set of the lion pics was not more than 7-10 feet away. One of the young lions walked so close to the truck that you could only look “down” on him, not “at” him. The elephants were maybe 10 feet away at one point. The temp was hot, but not unbearable. I wasn’t ever afraid “afraid.” The elephants make you pat attention because they can roll the truck.

  11. I am in awe. I’ve looked at the photos over and over again–they are just beautiful. It’s like the animals saw your camera and posed. Such perfect, clear shots! And I’m dying to find out about the camera and lenses that you used!!

    • debradixon says:

      You’re so sweet! The secret to good pictures is take a lot of them. :) I have a Nikkon Coolpix P500. It’s not one of the flat square cameras. Looks more like an old-style camera. I like the feel and the pics it takes. Lots of settings, but also takes good pics just in general.

  12. Parker Blue says:

    Awesome pics, DD! Looks like you enjoyed yourself. Hope you got some relaxation in!

    • debradixon says:

      P– Well, I was very sick the first day in country. Really sick. So the first day, which included travel away from the city and really really bad roads, I was tossing my cookies at every stop. Some sort of virus. Charming. But after that it got more relaxing. (g)

  13. Trish Jensen says:

    OMG, AMAZING pics! I wish you’d have named the different animals, though, because I honestly couldn’t identify a few. And didn’t I tell you to commune with gorillas? :) Just beautiful. Loved everything, especially the baby zebra and elephant. Nature is an amazing thing. Thank you for the lovely pictorial. Now where are we supposed to meet so we can watch the full slides again?

    • debradixon says:

      I can probably guess the ones you didn’t know. The tiny antelope in the grass is the tiniest species of antelope: A dik-dik. They are tiny.
      The fighting gazelle are Thompson Gazelles.
      The birds in the trees are vultures.
      The “cattle” with the zebras are wildebeest.
      And it’s an impala with the horns.

  14. Kylie Brant says:

    Amazing!!!! I wanna go and oh, look at the little baby elephant! Even had dh come over to view them. Someday….

    • debradixon says:

      The baby elephant was so cute, and the mother so protective. You can really see how maternal they are as a species when you see the family group with the babies.

  15. Jody Vitek says:

    Stunning! Amazing! Beautifu! Breath taking! Thank you for sharing with us.

  16. debradixon says:

    Jody– You’re welcome!

  17. Jean Willett says:

    Beautiful photos, Deb!! You had an eye for the shot. I loved the mama/baby elephant. The charging, or what looks like a charging elephant was wonderful. What an experience! Thanks for sharing.

    Jean

  18. Wow!! Amazing shots! And so close. My son went to the Masai Mara after a Kenyan mission trip and had some good photos. But most were further away. Y’all were brave! :) What country were you in, Deb?

    Thanks so much for sharing these gorgeous photos! I feel like I’ve been on an adventure. :)

    • debradixon says:

      Missy– We were in Tanzania since that’s where the migration was happening and we could do Ngorongoro Crater too, plus Olduvai.

  19. These photos leave me humbled. As a writer, I can’t begin to put words together that can create the impact of those lovely, lovely images. Thank you so much for sharing, Deb! (Hard to say which was my favorite, but the baby elephant merited a huge, sweet, “Ahhhh!”)

    • debradixon says:

      BK– Hey! Thanks. It took me longer than I thought yesterday morning to select some pics to put up. I didn’t want to do too many but I wanted to do enough to give the “experience” as if you guys were seeing it too. :) I’m so glad it told a story for you.

  20. loisgreiman says:

    I am insanely impressed!

Leave a Reply

