Creative Hall Decking For Book Lovers

BookTree5-242x300

Have you heard of book trees?  All the rage this year, they say.  From amazing 12-foot creations in public libraries to simple tabletop types like these:

book-christmas-tree_300 Books-Christmas-Tree book%20tree%20large

Or how about doing something festive with a whole wall of shelves:

ctrees10

I love to do this kind of stuff this time of year, and I try to add something new every year.  Here’s one of mine using Stranger In the Woods, one of the kids’ favorites.

stranger

But this weekend the girls and I will try our hand at making a book tree.  Just a small one.  Here’s something else we’re planning:

rudolf

This is from the December issue of Good Housekeeping.  There’s a handy dandy  template on the website, and it looks easy enough.  Shhh.  The grandgirls and I will be surprising Uncle John—SIL I call him–with this creation.  He goes hunting every year with his father, but this will be his only wall trophy.  Cool, huh?

Tell us about your most imaginative holiday creations.  How about your favorite ornaments—the ones that make you smile or bring a story to mind when you pull them out of the box?  Are you a collector?  Are you saving certain ornaments to pass on to the next generation?

About Kathleen Eagle

Kathleen Eagle is the award-winning, New York Times best-selling author of over forty novels.
This entry was posted in Christmas traditions, holiday decorating and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Creative Hall Decking For Book Lovers

  1. CateS says:

    I love the ‘trophy’!!

  2. loisgreiman says:

    Very cute, Kathy.

    My favorites are little sleds a babysitter helped my kids make out of popscicle sticks when they were very young. So cute.

  3. kylie brant says:

    Book trees…how cute and unique! Now *there’s* a type of tree I could have in every room in the house! I started buying ornaments for my kids when they were babies and as they get their own homes I ship the ornaments off with them. Then the next time I’m decorating the tree, I’m struck by how much I miss certain ornaments :)

    • I did the same thing, Kylie. This year littlest granddaughter was my best helper. She was really interested in which ornaments were on Nana and Grampa’s first tree, which were the baby ornaments, which ones Daddy, Uncle and Auntie had made. Elizabeth is the only one who’s taken her ornaments to her own tree, and I do remember them.

  4. Leanne Banks says:

    These are great! And I love the trophy you’re making for your son-in-law! TOO fun! This year, my creativity has been more focused on my writing and figuring out a few gift surprises for people. You make me want to be more crafty.:)

  5. CJ Miller says:

    I love the book trees! My favorite ornaments are the ones that mark special occasions: weddings, new babies, new homes. Every year, I get a sense of joy putting them on the tree.

  6. Isn’t that a wonder, CJ? If you do the occasions tree, the joy redoubles every year. When I was growing up the “look” of the tree seemed to change every few years. I don’t know if it was because we moved so often as a military family or because Mama wasn’t the nostalgic type. We went from bubble lights to big multi-colored bulbs to rotating color wheel (popular in the 60′s with the advent of the aluminum tree) to tiny white lights. The ornaments were generally colored glass balls, which broke easily. And tons of tinsel!

  7. Cindy Gerard says:

    I love the book trees – and your special projects, Kathy. I have kept every ornament our son and grand kids have made over the years and the main tree in the house is decorated with nothing but those ‘memory’ ornaments, as I call them. Some of them (the pine cones and paper cutouts with glitter for instance) are looking pretty worse for the wear. but every year when I get them out I remember when we made them and they make me smile. It’s not a beautiful tree by a decorator’s standard but to me, it’s the most beautiful tree in the world.

  8. Sonya says:

    See, this is why I still prefer paper books!

  9. MaryC says:

    I like the book trees, but I’d end up having to purchase books to make one – I would not want to use any from my own library.

Leave a Reply

