I’m ready for Christmas – and it scares me!

Okay – don’t throw rotten cranberries or tell me to go stick my head up the cavity of a turducken (Seriously – they stuff a turkey with a duck then stuff the duck with a chicken and THEN stuff it in a person?) but I’m ready for Christmas.

turducke1images

The house is decorated.  Here’s a corner of my office.  I even have it decorated:

cats tree 006

The shopping is done.

The gift boxes are in the mail.

The Christmas cards went out today.

The menu is planned.

The Christmas music is playing … you get the picture.

The presents are even wrapped – maybe because of all this good help?

snow cats and christmas 2009 016

I don’t understand it. Not that I’m one of those (not mentioning any names, Kylie) who sometimes runs right down to the wire, but this type of organization and situational awareness makes me jittery. I’m NEVER this prepared at this stage of the game, consequently it has me wondering: What have I forgotten?

Well, I’ve made my list and I’ve checked it more than twice (and if you’re naughty, no, you aren’t on it) and all seems right with my world.

I’ve finally decided to quit sweating it and just enjoy. I think that the honest truth is, this is the first Christmas season in YEARS that I haven’t had book deadline looming. For more years than I can remember, I’ve had to fit Christmas in around a deadline and the pressure, at times, has been intense. That’s what I’m missing this year. The pressure. And it feels spectacular!

I even have a little gift for you all. One of my favorite recipes in the world:

Creamy BUTTERHORNS

2 STICKS BUTTER OR MARGARINE

2 C FLOUR

12 OZ COTTAGE CHEESE

SALT

Mix dough with fork. Should be pie crust consistency.

Separate into 3 tennis size balls

Refrigerate overnight.

Dust counter with powdered sugar (instead of flour) and roll each ball into approx 12 inch circle.

Cut into 12 pieces (like pizza)

Roll up each piece from outside of circle in, into crescent rolls shapes.

Bake on ungreased cookie sheet at 350 degrees for 30 – 40 minutes.

When cool, drizzle with frosting made of powdered sugar and milk

Makes 36 of the most delicious 2 bite sized morsels you’ll ever taste.

Oh – and for that hard to buy person on your list?  Here’s a suggestion:  SEAL of My Dreams.  It’s the gift that gives way beyond the  person who receives it.

Buy SEAL of My Dreams

What about you? Are you feeling the pressure this year? How’s that shopping coming along? What tricks do you employ to keep your sanity and good nature during this season of giving and sometimes stress?

About cindygerard

Cindy Gerard is a New York Times best-selling author of action packed romantic suspense novels. Learn more about Cindy at http://www.cindygerard.com
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to I’m ready for Christmas – and it scares me!

  1. Sonya says:

    Because post to Australia is slow, and I do a lot of my shopping online, I ordered most of my presents in October! Tree is up, most of the presents have arrived and are wrapped. I feel good!

    My family is Ukrainian, which means we have two Christmases – in December and on the 6th-7th of January. Even though we say we’ll only do one lot of presents, it never seems to work like that!

  2. kris says:

    I have a good chunk of shopping done, no wrapping though. Have yet to figure out the holiday meal…which I am hosting. Ugh! Any ideas?? Hubby wants elegant yet simple….that equates to “reservations” in my mind!!!!

  3. Leanne Banks says:

    Congrats on getting everything done! I’m so impressed! Am I done? Nowhere near, but my pre-decorated, pre-lit, pull-up tree is in place! And I’ve bought several gifts. So far, I’ve really loved ordering on-line! Merry Christmas Cindy! Enjoy!:) xo, Leanne

  4. TrishJ says:

    Almost done, am going with my daughter-in-law on Monday to finish for the grandkids. Now comes the baking. All my kids (and grandkids) will come for the Christmas weekend — so lots of food will be eaten. I plan on making the butterhorns, they sound yummy. I LOVE this time of year.

  5. Kathleen O says:

    I have about half of the Christmas done, I have to have most of if finished by the 17th. That’s when the kids are coming to decorate my tree or finishing decorating, as i have already put on the breakable and delicate ones. . This is a yearly tradition and the ones I don’t see on Christmas Eve or Christmas Day, take thir gifts home this day. But most of it is gift cards. It is just a matter of find the the right ones..A few gifts to wrap and put under the tree. The rest of the decorations around the house are done. Now if I was going to be home on Christmas morning I would make this coffee cake. But I will be at the oldest brother’s on Christmas morning and my sister in law will be in charge… But I think this is a good recipe any morning…

    • Cindy Gerard says:

      We do some traveling around from house to house, too, Kathleen, as well as having family at our house. Our big gathering is the weekend before Christmas so I had to be ready a little early this year.

  6. Terry Odell says:

    Kudos for your readiness. And I will definitely suggest Seal of my Dreams as a great book, and it’s supporting a great cause. Cindy’s story had my heart pounding. I’m trying to ration out the reads, but if the wait at the doctor’s office is too long, I’ll probably finish today.

    Living up here in the boonies, shopping is a major schlep, so everyone on my list is getting gift cards or things I can order on line.

    Terry
    Terry’s Place

  7. Cindy, I’m jealous. You’re so organized! I’ve done a little shopping, but still in a quandry about gifts for the grands. I’m afraid the easy stage has nearly passed. I love it when almost any toy delights.

    Clyde says he’s bringing in the tree today. How will I ever get the WIP done? Double sigh.

  8. Cindy Gerard says:

    A tree says Christmas like few other things! Once that’s in place I’m always in the spirit!

  9. loisgreiman says:

    Sorry, I MUST tell you to stick your head in a turducken cuz I have nothing done. That said, good job you.

  10. Cindy Gerard says:

    LOL, Lois. If I see one, I’ll definitely check to see if my head fits inside. No promises on following through, though :o)

  11. Kylie Brant says:

    Turducken. I don’t care what it really means, it sounds like a curse to me so that’s my response to you being ready. Turducken to you! The house is decorated except for the Christmas village that will take two nights to put up. Before I can do my letters I have to do my dad’s. I’ve spent the first $1000 so far and have just started the shopping. So….yeah. Not ready pretty sums up things at my house! First I beg to get the lists from everyone. Then I whine because I’d like three good sized presents so I can be DONE and not these little $14 items that aren’t worth the time it takes to order them. Because you know it’s all about me :) Ho Ho HO!

  12. Wendy says:

    I have heard so many people such as yourself that have their Christmas stuff done already – I have barely started. I dream of the Christmas when I will have it all done early & can sit back & enjoy too. I say enjoy this moment to the fullest. That is what I will do the year it happens to me. Thanks for the recipe too – will have to try it.

  13. Cindy Gerard says:

    No doubt you’ll get on top of things Wendy.

  14. C.J. Miller says:

    Thanks for the recipe. I’m always on the lookout for treats to WOW the family.

Leave a Reply

